Me, myself and I…

Standard

May/12/12

Spending time with myself

…are one of those little things that remind me life is good.

Pasar tiempo conmigo

…son una de esas pequeñas cosas que me hacen recordar lo buena que es la vida.

I love me some ‘me time’

This is not to say that I don’t enjoy spending time with other people. Given that I am not a completely anti-social human being I do like other people’s company and I enjoy spending time with the people I love.

But I believe it is equally important to socialize with oneself, as cray-cray as that sounds. Just think about it: not many people know you better than yourself, not many people enjoy the exact same things you do and -for most of us- not many people enjoy your jokes quite as much as you do. So, really, spending time with oneself is actually fun, not to mention relaxing and a great learning experience.

When I am having ‘me time’ I like to make myself a nice meal, watch the movies and shows I like, read (sometimes out loud), sing at the top of my lungs, dance, take a bubble bath and write to my heart’s content.

I also like to converse with myself; I think about the things that are worrying me, or scare me or even the things that I am happy or excited about and I talk to myself about it. You can learn so much by just listening to what you have to say without any filters (which are sometimes present when you talk to somebody else).

So, if I were in any position to give my readers advice, I would say: give yourself a chance, get to know yourself and become your best friend. If anything, it would ensure you will never be bored, even when you’re alone.

Leave a Reply

