Es tan corto el amor, y es tan largo el olvido. …

Standard

April/17/12

“Poema XX” Pablo Neruda

…is one of those little things that remind me life is good.

“Poema XX” Pablo Neruda

…es una de esas pequeñas cosas que me hacen recordar lo buena que es la vida.

I’m not much into poetry, but I tend to like poems with the least amount of vagueness. This, however,  is one of the few poems I can read over and over again and I always find myself mesmerized. Each time I read it I understand it a little better and I find some new revelation.

So, here are some links to the spanish and english version. Enjoy.

Poema XX (English)

Poema XX (Spanish)

 

2 responses »

  1. Yes, Neruda was a master. I especially enjoy his love poems, though they are not exactly what everyone else likes in a love poem. As for ambiguity, I love it. What I hate is when some of these modern poets decide to be difficult just because they want to prove how smart and complicated they can be. But when someone like Emily Dickinson or Neruda, or Frost open up multiple possibilities, and there is no 10th grade English lit. instructor around to tell make it into a true or false question, well, that I just love. Thanks for posting this!

Leave a Reply

