Exercise and junk food…

Standard

April/5/12

Going to a baseball game

…are one of those little things that remind me life is good.

Ir a un juego de baseball

…son una de esas pequeñas cosas que me hacen recordar lo buena que es la vida.

I’ve never been into sports. Watching or playing sports is just really not my thing. I’m much more of a sedentary, book-worm kindda gal.

I never really found the joy in playing sports. Not even when I was little and actually enjoyed running around. Let alone after I discovered computers and the wonder of the Internet. I also don’t find watching most sports as entertaining as other people do.

I grew up in a family where 50% of its members (my brother and father) are sports fans; they follow every kind of sport as far as I am concerned. Ever since I can remember my dad has religiously followed baseball and has been a New York Yankees fan. I don’t know what it was about baseball, but it started off as the sport I didn’t mind watching and now I actually enjoy watching baseball games very much. Of course, being my father’s daughter I, too, am a Yankees fan.

But watching baseball games on TV has nothing on actually going to the stadium and watching a ball game with a nice cold __ *insert favorite beverage here*, a hot dog and some cracker jacks. Nothing compares to the feeling of being there, watching the game live, cheering for your team with a thousand other fans, singing ‘take me out to the ball game’ and maybe even catching a homerun ball.

In my experience, the best part of going to the stadium is the food. As a wise character once said, “There’s something deeply satisfying about watching other people exercise while eating junk food.” (Lane, Gilmore Girls)

Leave a Reply

