Romance is not dead…at least not in the movies

Standard

March/30/12

Chick Flicks

…is one of those little things that remind me life is good.

Peliculas romanticas

…es una de esas pequeñas cosas que me hacen recordar lo buena que es la vida.

 I know most guys are rolling their eyes at the screen right now. I know some girls are too. It’s OK, I’m used to the judgement. But the thing is I truly believe chick flicks (romantic comedies and romantic dramas, for those who are not familiar with the term) fulfill one of the most important purposes of movies in general: to transport you to another world where you can laugh, cry, get frustrated, fall in love and most importantly forget–even for just an hour and a half–that you live in the real world where love is not easy, kissing someone in the rain doesn’t always make things better, and happily ever afters don’t exist. What is so wrong with wanting to be transported to a world where life is easier? where love always wins? What is so wrong with knowing that no matter what happens, there is going to be a happy ending? As long as you keep your sanity about you and understand that chick flicks are the exception to the rule of reality, then I don’t see anything wrong with going to watch a movie that is going to put you in a good mood.

So, having established my love for chick flicks in general. Here are some of my favorites of all time:

1. Pretty Woman

This movie is undoubtedly the BEST CHICK FLICK EVER. It has everything a romance movie needs to succeed: an unusual “meet cute” (the distant rich guy asks the witty prostitute with the heart of gold for directions), great soundtrack, witty and smart dialogue, attractive main characters (a young Richard Gere and Julia Roberts, I mean, how can you do any better?), great sidekick (Kit: “cinde-fucking-rella!” classic!), good, believable sexual tension between the main characters, and a fairy-tale like storyline in which the “prince” ends up rescuing and being rescued by the princess. Oh! and shopping on Rodeo Drive!

2. The Notebook

A movie even some guys agree it’s good. The love story between Noah and Allie is pretty much your typical poor boy, rich girl Romeo and Juliet sortta deal. This is not necessarily a bad thing, especially if this kind of plot line is well-developed like in this movie. The forbidden love story line has been around for thousands and thousands of years, sometimes it works sometimes it doesn’t. In the case of The Notebook I think it worked just fine. I would have done away with the cheesy ending of them dying together of old age…even for me it was too much.

Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams did a great job. I also loved the performance by Joan Allen as Allie’s mother.

Oh! and who could forget the scene of the kiss under the rain?

3. 500 Days of Summer

I don’t care if people say it’s depressing. I will never get tired of telling people that 500 Days of Summer does have a happy ending. For one Tom does meet Autum and realizes that Summer is not the only woman he will ever like and/or love. But most of all, the movie brings forth the very important message of: love matters; the fact that a relationship ends does not mean that the time spent loving that person was wasted time. Loving someone is never wasted time, loving someone can teach many things, one of the time being how to love someone else.

4. Cinema Paradiso

Although I wouldn’t consider this movie to be a chick flick, it is a romantic drama. This is an Italian movie written by Giuseppe Tornatore with music by the wonderfully brilliant Enro Morricone. If you haven’t seen this movie I would encourage you to watch it, so I won’t spoil the ending for you. This is another love story about a poor boy and a rich girl. But there is also the story of love between Toto and Alfredo. Alfredo is an old man who finds himself having to be a father figure for this intrepid little kid, Toto. Their love is a father and son kind of love and it becomes clear by the end of the movie that Alfredo was willing to risk Toto even hating him for what he though was the best thing for Toto.

I would also recommend watching Il Postino (El cartero de Neruda), another amazing Italian movie.

I will stop myself here because I could go on and on. But basically these are 4 of my favorite romantic comedies and/or dramas. Cinema Paradiso is actually my favorite movie of all time.

Do you have any favorite chick flicks?

 

8 responses »

  1. Para mi falto. Casablanca, quien puede olvidar al final cuando bogara le dice don’t cry kid he is looping at you. Sabiendo que sacrifica el amor de su vida para salvar a su rival. Bueno y gone with the Wind no crees?
    En lo demas. Estoy de cuerdo contigo.

    • Si me falto tiempo para escribir, pero Casablanca de plano es una de esas peliculas. Gone With the Wind tambien, si puedes quedarte despierta durante cuatro horas de pelicula

  2. I grew up with two older sisters. I have watched my fair share of chick flicks. Most of them are not that bad. I would say that I am one of the guys who agrees that The Notebook was a good movie.

Leave a Reply

