Getting my groove on…

Standard

March/20/12

The Emperor’s New Groove

…is one of those little things that remind me life is good.

Las Locuras del Emperador

…es una de esas pequeñas cosas que me hacen recordar lo buena que es la vida.

Yes, I am aware that I am 21 years old. Yes, I am aware that it is a children’s movie. Yes, I am aware that there are infinitely better movies that deserve recognition. This is not the first or only post I will make about a movie because I am the first to recognize there are a lot of amazing movies out there that remind us life is good. But for today, I chose the Emperors New Groove because it is rainy, and gloomy and I am in need of a good laugh.

Why? Because it is HILARIOUS! At least to me. I have seen this movie about 6 or 7 times, which is a big deal for me because I HATE watching movies I’ve already seen. I only re-watch the movies I really, really like.

But come on! How can you not want to watch whiny, hilariously selfish Emperor Kuzco be turned into a llama and rescued by Mr. goody-two-shoes Pacha? How can you not want to watch evil Yzma’s plans be frustrated over and over again? (The character Yzma is hilarious in itself, starting with the bony structure and excessive wrinkles that surely reminds most of us of an evil school teacher from our past) How can you not want to hear Kronk talk squirrel language? How can you possibly not want to listen to Kuzco’s hilarious narration of his story from his self-centered point of view? (My favorite parts are when he stops the movie to bring back the attention to himself with some witty comment.)

I simply love this movie. Kudos to Disney once again!

 

4 responses »

  1. “Squeak, squeakin’, squeak, squeakity.” Fun post and I don’t think one can watch a good kids’ movie too many times, no matter how old/young you are! Thanks. Think today’s a good day for a Disney Double-feature.

Leave a Reply

