Five hundred twenty five thousand six hundred minutes…

Standard

March/17/12

Musicals

…is one of those little things that remind me life is good.

Musicales

…es una de esas pequeñas cosas que me hacen recordar lo buena que es la vida.

What better combination than catchy songs, awesome dancing and an entertaining plot?

I like movies, I like plays, but nothing compares to my absolute love for musicals whether I watch them live or on the screen. One of my favorite childhood memories was going to New York with my parents and watching The Phantom of the Opera and Beauty and the Beast on Broadway. I have also seen Les Miserables live, but sadly that is the extent of my experience with live musicals. Even though there are plenty of musicals going on in Houston at any given time, my poor college student budget does not allow me pleasures like that. I have, however, seen countless musical movies and loved all of them. My favorite musicals so far are: Phantom of the Opera, Les Miserables, The Producers, Rent, Annie, Beauty and the Beast, Singing in the Rain.

What are your favorites?

 

6 responses »

  1. Great musicals you chose. Phantom of the Opera was great on Broadway. I also really like Jekyll and Hyde.

    The Addams Family was the last one I went to, and it was hilarious and had great music.

    I love the theater too, but it does get pretty expensive, even for the “cheap” seats.

    But there’s nothing quite like watching professionals perform perfectly on stage.

    Thanks for sharing.🙂

  2. I love musicals too! Love how they solve any kind of problem or situation just by singing, I wish it was that simple in real life haha
    My favorite musical movies (as you said, theater is expensive for a college student) are definitely Nine (most people don’t like this one, but I think that it’s because it’s a movie you have to watch more than once to be really into it), Chicago, Singing in the rain, Moulin Rouge, Cabaret and Tommy.

    • Yeah! I love how people in musicals can break into song and dancing and suddenly everything is fine. I have been meaning to watch Nine, now I’ll watch it for sure.
      Oh! love the music in Chicago!

      Thanks for reading and participating!

  3. I LOVE your first statement! Musicals do remind us that life is good, don’t they? I’m like you. I haven’t seen a ton of live musicals but what I have seen I have loved. I’ve seen many movie versions as well. I’ve seen Wicked and I loved it so much! I agree, the Producers is a great one. You say you’re a college student. When I was in college the theater department did a production of Little Women the musical which I will never forget. I’m actually driving two hours away next weekend to go see the next one they are doing: The Secret Garden. Great post!

    • Oh! I have heard from many many people that Wicked is fantastic. I’ll try to go while it’s still running in Houston.
      The theater dpt. at my school rarely does musicals sadly, but they do a Pop Show every year where music majors sing show tunes and I love going to those!

      Thanks for reading and participating!

Leave a Reply

