It starts with Hello…

Standard

March/10/12

Meeting friendly people

…is one of those little things that remind me life is good.

Conocer a gente amigable

…son de esas pequeñas cosas que me hacen recordar lo buena que es la vida.

I’m a naturally shy person, and it is extremely hard for me to start a conversation with someone I don’t previously know and/or have been introduced to. So I love meeting friendly people who go out of their way to make people like me feel comfortable enough to talk, and who have no problem starting a conversation. In spite of being shy, I like making new friends and getting to know other people, so it’s great when I get to meet those friendly souls who help me out in the process.

4 responses »

  1. I have such a problem with this as well. Part of me wants to say hello to someone who I don’t know, but on the other hand, I just can’t do it. I think that part of it is fear. Fear of messing up something while I’m talking (which has happened to me several times :p), or the reception of who it is that I’m talking to. To overcome that fear, I get a good close look at how they interact with others, and then I can somewhat determine how I’ll speak with them.

  2. Same here, Wes. I’m pretty shy, but I will certainly initiate conversation with a few of the old standards (“So, what do you do?” or, if at a get-together, “so, you know ___?”).

    What makes things worse is when you are paired up with someone who doesn’t put effort into the conversation. I don’t mean shy (after all, I’m shy myself!). I mean those who can add to the conversation but don’t invest themselves. Or they give one word answers.

    Like come on! But you do get to meet some gems like gomezcanaan mentioned that make you feel like you’re a part of the conversation and wish to know what you think.

    Conversation is an art; some of us struggle yet still make the effort.

    Here’s to making good friends (and having great conversations).

    Thanks for sharing.🙂

    • You are right, mikereverb. It makes it worse when the other person seems to be a monosyllabic creature who would rather be anywhere else but where he/she is. That’s another reason to appreciate friendly people who do try, even if they are shy.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. I agree, I think fear plays a great role in not being able to start a conversation with someone you don’t know. For me, I think it’s mostly fear of being rejected or mocked if I approach someone new. But I think you’re strategy to overcome that fear is pretty interesting, I will try it next time.

    Thanks for reading and participating!

Leave a Reply

