I wrote about writing…

Standard

Feb/29/12

Writing

…is one of those little things that remind me life is good.

Escribir

…es una de esas pequeñas cosas que me hacen recordar lo buena que es la vida.

 

I tend to forget how much I truly love writing. It’s not for lack of practice; I do writing assignments for school all the time. I guess I just get too wrapped up on the fact that they are assignments and I have to write about a certain subject, in a certain amount of time. I tend to forget that, ever since I learned how to, writing has been my passion.

Today, I remembered.

One of my favorite singers/composers, Alejandro Sanz, wrote: “No es inteligencia, ni es sabiduria. Esta es mi manera de decir las cosas, no es que sea mi trabajo es que es mi idioma.” (“It’s not intelligence or wisdom. This is my way of talking, it’s not just my job, it’s my language.”) He was talking about singing, but I think it expresses beautifully how I feel about writing. Writing is my language.

When I write I get to say what I need to say. When I write I get to scape inwards, to explore my own mind. When I write I get to be in touch with reality. When I write, I get to speak.

Leave a Reply

